Candidacy resources

For specific candidacy forms please click HERE

Scholarships, grants and loans

The Dakotas Conference of The United Methodist Church provides student aid for certified candidates through seminary and course of study loan/grants, as well as debt reduction relief for new clergy within the conference. Click here for the current student aid guidelines. For more information, please contact the Office of Leadership Development.

Application for seminary loan or grant

Application for course of study loan or grant

Application for ministerial education debt reduction grant

Promissary note (required for seminary and course of study loan or grants)

Merit Scholarship application (scholarships distributed through the Dakotas United Methodist Foundation)

 United Methodist Seminaries

The University Senate of The United Methodist Church provides a list of approved seminaries. Online classes are now only approved for those that are taken at one of the 14 United Methodist seminaries. 

Asbury Theological Seminary

Boston University School of Theology

Candler School of Theology*

Claremont School of Theology*

Drew University Theological School

Duke Divinity School*

Gammon Theological Seminary

Garrett Evangelical Theological Seminary*

Iliff School of Theology

Methodist Theological School in Ohio*

Perkins School of Theology*

Saint Paul School of Theology and extension school in Oklahoma*

United Theological Seminary (Dayton, OH) and extension in West Virginia*

Wesley Theological Seminary*

*Course of study courses available