Certification requirements

*see forms below

Certified Lay Servant:                       

  1. Pastor and charge conference approval

  2. Complete the Ministry Discernment Retreat

  3. File Annual Report

  4. Complete Advance Course every three years

Designated Preaching Specialization:

  1. Must first be a Certified Lay Servant. The designated preaching specialization status would place your name on an area preaching list that would be distributed to clergy.

  2. Requires additional steps such as interviews with District Leaders, posting a sermon video to an online Dakotas Conference Site and further preaching courses.

  3. Completion of required courses for lay speakers.

  4. Complete of advance course.

Certified Lay Minister:

  1. Completion of Ministry Discernment Retreat

  2. Submit "Call Statement" of interest to District Superintendent for approval

  3. Pastor and charge conference approval

  4. Complete certification as a Lay Servant (by taking advance course)

  5. Complete required training (Modules 2-4)

  6. Endorsement by appropriate DOM (District Committee on Ordained Ministry)

  7. File annual report with documentation of 10 hours of continuing education annually


Lay Servant Ministries Certification Renewal

Certified Lay Minister

Ministry Discernment Follow up Assignment 

CLM Process Checklist

CLM Recommendation Form

CLM Background Authorization Form

CLM Biographical Information Form-201

General Conference 2016

Adopted LSM Legislation