Skip to Main Content

Praying Our Way Forward

Click here to view all of the prayers.

Bishop Bruce R. Ough invites all United Methodists in the Dakotas to join him in Praying our Way Forward. The denomination-wide Praying Our Way Forward initiative launched on New Year’s Day 2017 with 75 weeks of focused prayer for The United Methodist Church. Each annual conference will take one week to have intentional prayer for the mission of The United Methodist Church to make disciples of Jesus Christ for the transformation of the world and for the work of the Commission on a Way Forward. The effort began in the North Carolina Conference, and will wrap up in the West Angola Episcopal area in June 2018. The Dakota's Conference's week of prayer will be August 20-26, 2017. 

The Commission on a Way Forward was proposed by the Council of Bishops and approved by the 2016 General Conference to do a complete examination and possible revision the Book of Discipline paragraphs concerning human sexuality and explore maintaining and strengthening the unity of the church.

About The Commission on a Way Forward

Council of Bishops Offers 'A Way Forward,' General Conference Delegates Approve Plan 
Council of Bishops to Call for 2019 General Conference 
Commission on a Way Forward on

While this Commission undertakes their work, the Council of Bishops is calling on all United Methodists to join together in prayer. Each conference is registered for a week of prayer. The Dakotas Conference has been assigned the week of August 20-26, 2017. 
Here are ways that you can participate:

Pray for Members of the Commission

Please pray by name for the 32 members of the Commission on a Way Forward:

Jasmine Rose Smothers
Jorge Acevedo
Brian Adkins
Jacques Umembudi Akasa
Tom Berlin
Matt Berryman
Helen Cunanan
David Field
Ciriaco Francisco
Grant Hagiya
Aka Dago-Akribi Hortense
Scott Johnson
Jessica LaGrone
Thomas Lambrecht
MyungRae Kim Lee
Julie Hager Love
Mazvita Machinga
Patricia Miller
Mande Guy Muyombo
Eben Nhiwatiwa
Dave Nuckols
Casey Langley Orr
Gregory Palmer
Donna Pritchard
Tom Salsgiver
Robert Schnase
Leah Taylor
Debra Wallace-Padgett
Rosemarie Wenner
Alice Williams
John Wesley Yohanna
Alfiado S. Zunguza

More information and resources for organizing prayer groups within your congregation are available at