Skip to Main Content

Several awards to be announced at AC 2020, nominate someone

By: Doreen Gosmire, director of communication, Dakotas UMC

33345544028 74705cb4b9 C

Chris Chase (center), who serves as the pastor for Grace Celebrate Recovery in Bismarck, North Dakota, is congratulated by Bishop Ough (left) and Rev. Ben Ingebretson (right), director for new church development, as he recieves the One Matters Award at Annual 2019. Photo by jlynn studios.

Several awards will be announced at annual conference. Some are chosen by the cabinet, some by CCYM, and some via open nominations.

Nominations are now being accepted for the following awards:

Denman Award for Evangelism— The Harry Denman Evangelism Award program honors United Methodists in each annual conference whose exceptional ministry of evangelism – expressed in Word (what), Sign (why), and Deed (how) – brings people into a life transforming relationship with Jesus Christ. Three awards are given annually one for clergy, one for laity and one for youth. Nominate someone here.  

Francis Asbury— The Francis Asbury Award offered through the General Board of Higher Education and Ministry (GBHEM) in recognition to individuals who have made a significant contribution to fostering the church's ministries in higher education at the local, district, or annual conference level of the church. The award is named for Bishop Asbury and is based on his admonition to the people called Methodist to erect a school in the vicinity of every church. "We must," he said, "...give the key of knowledge to your children, and those of the poor in the vicinity of your small towns and villages." Nominate someone here

Streams of Justice Award— calls attention to a United Methodist sponsored program or event which promotes justice in our Annual Conference.  Ministries on Native American reservations, local churches and outreach centers in communities (rural and urban), and state-wide and regional organizations which have programs that offer components of justice education, advocacy and empowerment in addition to material assistance and spiritual support are encouraged. Nominate someone here

Youthworker Hall of Fame—This award honors outstanding individuals who have committed a lifetime to serving Jesus Christ through youth ministry.  This award is announced annually at the Dakotas Annual Conference. Criteria: 20 years or more of working with United Methodist youth, has not previously been inducted into the Hall of Fame, and not currently serving as an adult member of the CCYM. Nominate someone here

Darrell Leach Youth Worker of the Year Award—This award honors outstanding individuals who are currently serving Jesus Christ in youth ministry. This award is announced annually at Annual Conference. Criteria nominees are: must currently be working with United Methodist youth in some capacity —volunteer, paid staff or clergy, and is not currently serving as an adult member of CCYM. Nominate someone here. 

If you know of a church or individual who is deserving of one of these awards, please submit your nominations by March 30, 2020.  

The Dakotas Conference Cabinet will select :

One Matters Award —This award from Discipleship Ministries recognizes churches that have grown in their number of baptisms and professions of faith. The award, which includes $1,000, will be presented to a congregation that has done significant work to make its zeros from previous years become positive numbers.

Multiplying Matters Award—Multiplying matters because of how it benefits those inside the church as well as how it benefits those outside. Generally speaking, multiplying churches reach new people at a rate greater than churches that try other means. Multiplying matters in the Dakotas as our region grows and continually brings change with each new generation. It matters because there are people in every generation that still do not know Jesus.


Dakotas Annual Conference of The United Methodist Church 605.996.6552 (1).jpeg 1331 University Ave. Mitchell SD 57301-0460 US 43.69689310 -98.03291320 122 W. Franklin Avenue Ste 400 Minneapolis MN 55404 US 0.00000000 0.00000000 1331 W University Ave Mitchell SD 57301 US 0.00000000 0.00000000 1331 University Ave Mitchell SD 57301 US 0.00000000 0.00000000