Skip to Main Content


Camp & Retreat Ministry Council

The Dakotas and Minnesota conferences’ camp and retreat ministries work closely together in many ways, including a joint advisory team called the Area Camp and Retreat Council. The council, comprised of equal representation from each conference, meets quarterly and focuses on the big picture for moving the camping ministry forward and will function as a wisdom council for the Area Director of Camp and Retreat Ministries. This allows for an expansion of camping-related offerings for United Methodists in each conference, as well as allowing both conferences to share best practices to create the strongest possible area camp and retreat ministry.

Minnesota Council Members

  • Gordon Deuel, co-chair
  • Duane Daby
  • Abigail Ozanne
  • Eric Pone



Dakotas Council Members

  • Tyrel Schlecht, co-chair
  • Lyall Workman
  • Erin Woods
  • Amber Laffey
  • Rydel Samuelson


Staff Rep: Keith Shew


Dakotas Annual Conference of The United Methodist Church 605.996.6552 1331 University Ave. Mitchell SD 57301-0460 US 43.69689310 -98.03291320 122 W. Franklin Avenue Ste 400 Minneapolis MN 55404 US 0.00000000 0.00000000 1331 W University Ave Mitchell SD 57301 US 0.00000000 0.00000000 1331 University Ave Mitchell SD 57301 US 0.00000000 0.00000000