Skip to Main Content

Get ready for AC 2022: Attend a Pre-Conference Gathering

By: Doreen Gosmire, director of communications, Dakotas UMC

Dk Ac2022 Clergy Session Part 1 May 25

Registered delegates to the twenty-ninth session of the Dakotas Annual Conference will spend time learning about various legislation they will be considering at the business sessions happening on June 9-11, 2022, at one of the four Pre-Conference Gathering sessions being held on:

  • Thursday, May 19 at 7-8 p.m. Central Time (CDT), 6-7 p.m. Mountain Time (MDT);
  • Sunday, May 22 at 8-9 p.m. CDT, 7-8  p.m. MDT;
  • Tuesday, May 31 at 8-9 p.m., CDT, 7-8 p.m. MDT; and
  • Saturday, June 4 at 10-11 a.m. CDT, 9-10 a.m. MDT.

These gatherings inform delegates about major pieces of legislation the 2023 Budget Proposal, the Nominations Report, the Consent Calendar and four proposed resolutions. This is an opportunity to discuss the legislation that will be acted upon during the annual conference session.  The 2022 Conference Workbook, with the final versions of all the legislation, will be published by Thursday, May 12, 2022.

There is limited time during the plenary session at annual conference for discussion about these issues. It is important that participants take this time to learn about the legislation and have questions answered before arriving at the 2022 Annual Conference in Bismarck. 


Jeff Pospisil, who serves as the Executive Director for Finance and Administration and the treasurer for the Dakotas Conference, will moderate the sessions with Rev. Rebecca Trefz, who serves as the Southeast District's superintendent and the Executive Director of Ministries for the Dakotas Conference. Pospisil and Trefz will guide participants through presentations including the 2023 Budget Proposal, a report from the Board of Pensions, items on the Consent Calendar, a report from the Committee on Nominations, and an overview of the four proposed resolutions. 

Delegates are asked to register for one of the Pre-Conference Gathering Sessions when they register for the 2022 Annual Conference. The sessions will be held virtually via Zoom Webinar. You will receive the link to the webinar in an e-mail two-days prior to the session.

This year there is an option to attend a face-to face session, with a district superintendent leading question and answer sessions. These in-person  sessions will allow some more opportunity for conversation, prayer,  and questions. The schedule for the option to attend in-person will happen at these times and locations:  

Date

Location

District Superintendent

May 19

5:30 p.m. MDT, 6:30 p.m. CDT

Canyon Lake UMC

Rapid City, SD

Rev. Bob Ruedebusch

Rev. Dan Bader

May 19

5:30 p.m. MDT, 6:30 p.m. CDT

First UMC

Jamestown, ND

 

Rev. Joel Winckler

 

May 22

6:30 p.m. MDT, 7:30 p.m. CDT

First UMC
Sioux Falls, SD

Rev. Rebecca Trefz

May 31

6:30 p.m. MDT, 7:30 p.m. CDT

First UMC
Fargo, ND

Rev. Kris Mutzenberger

May 31

6:30 p.m. MDT, 7:30 p.m. CDT

McCabe UMC

Bismarck, ND

Rev. Joel Winckler

May 31

6:30 p.m. MDT, 7:30 p.m. CDT

Riverview UMC

Huron, SD

Rev. Rebecca Trefz

June 4

8:30 a.m. MDT, 9:30 a.m. CDT

First UMC

Pierre, SD

Rev. Bob Ruedebusch

June 4

8:30 a.m. MDT, 9:30 a.m. CDT

Downtown First UMC

Mitchell, SD

Rev. Rebecca Trefz

Take the time to get ready now! After two challenging years of being apart we are ready to gather as one body at the Bismarck Event Center.  Drawing on Psalm 23 and John 10:10-11, our theme is “Jesus: Healer”. We are a people and a world in need of healing beyond our doing. God invites us to come sit by still waters, and to allow God to restore our souls.

 

UMC

Dakotas Annual Conference of The United Methodist Church 605.996.6552 https://www.dakotasumc.org/media/library/fluid-mod-setting/12/logo/logo.png https://www.dakotasumc.org/media/library/fluid-mod-page/2/slideshow_home/AC2022 slider_Register-Today.jpg 1331 University Ave. Mitchell SD 57301-0460 US 43.69689310 -98.03291320 122 W. Franklin Avenue Ste 400 Minneapolis MN 55404 US 0.00000000 0.00000000 1331 W University Ave Mitchell SD 57301 US 0.00000000 0.00000000 1331 University Ave Mitchell SD 57301 US 0.00000000 0.00000000 http://www.facebook.com/dakotasumc http://www.twitter.com/DakotasUM https://vimeo.com/dakotasumc https://www.instagram.com/dakotasumc https://www.flickr.com/photos/dakotasumc/albums